cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thinking of starting my digital nomad journey, but kinda scared and clueless

AminL
Weekender II

Hello everyone,

My name is Amin and I'm a software engineer based in Dubai, currently employed remotely with the help of Deel. I've been thinking about trying the digital nomad lifestyle lately, but I tend to overthink and worry about unlikely scenarios. Although I've traveled before, I've never gone alone with my work. I worry about things like what would happen if something goes wrong or if I'm not cut out for this lifestyle. I have a lot of questions that I can't seem to find answers for, which ultimately prevents me from taking the leap.

This year, I'm hoping to change my perspective and take the plunge. I'm curious if any of you have had similar feelings when starting out, and how your experience has been so far. Are there any remote work-friendly places that could help ease me into it? I apologize if my questions are a bit vague, but thank you for taking the time to read my message.

18 REPLIES 18

Gabriele
Deel Team

Hey @AminL, while I’m not a full digital nomad, I do move between places rather regularly and frequently, and some of your questions and doubts resonate with my experience, so I'll add my 2 cents while we wait for more detailed replies 🙂

1. I think uncertainty and maybe even some fear are totally normal when approaching big life changes, especially ones that require you to unroot from your established comfort and move. These feelings help you be critical of the choices you are making, and force you to plan for potential issues you may face along the way. This is a good thing.